WPC Pakistan

Eighth Phase

Women’s Parliamentary History

The Eighth Phase – February 18, 2008 Elections & Onwards

The elections held on February 18, 2008 will always be remembered in the history of Pakistan as a major turning point. Held in the shadows of Mohtarma Benazir Bhutto’s martyrdom, the events which followed also proved historical. Dr. Fehmida Mirza, a third-time winner from a rural general constituency in Sindh’s remote Badin district was elected with an overwhelming two-third majority as the first Woman Speaker of the House, not only in Pakistan but in the entire Muslim World. Along-with her, as many as 15 other women were also elected from the General seats.

Women Members Elected on General Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan 2008-Till date

Sr. No. Name Constituency
1 Ms. Sumaira Malik (PML) NA-69 Khushab-I
2 Ms. Raheela Baluch (PPP-P) NA-78 Faisalabad-IV
3 Mst. Ghulam Bibi Bharwana (PML) NA-87 Jhang-II
4 Ms. Saima Akhtar Bharwana (Ind) NA-90 Jhang-V
5 Ms. Farkhanda Amjad (PML) NA-92 T.T.Singh-I
6 Ms. Saira Afzal Tarar (PML-N) NA-102 Hafizabad-I
7 Dr. Firdous Ashiq Awan (PPP-P) NA-113 Sialkot-II
8 Ms. Sumaira Yasir Rasheed (PML-N) NA-115 Narowal-I
9 Ms. Samina Khalid Ghurki (PPP-P) NA-130 Lahore-XIII
10 Begum Tehmina Daultana (PML-N) NA-169 Vehari-III
11 Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar (PML-Q) NA-177 Muzafargarh-II
12 Ms. Faryal Talpur (PPP-P) NA-207 Larkana-IV
13 Dr. Azra Fazal Pechuho (PPP-P) NA-213 Nawabshah-I
14 Mrs. Shamshad Sattar Bachani (PPP-P) NA-223 Hyderabad-VI
15 Dr. Fehmida Mirza (PPP-P) NA-225 Badin-II
16 Ms. Khushbakht Shujaat (MQM) Na-250 Karachi-XII

Source: Library of National Assembly of Pakistan Records

The women returning on reserved seats were:

Women Members Elected on Reserved Seats in the National Assembly of Pakistan 2002-2007

Sr. No. Name Constituency
1 Begum Ishrat Ashraf (PML-N) Punjab
2 Ms. Maimoona Hashmi (PML-N) Punjab
3 Ms. Qudsia Arshad (PML-N) Punjab
4 Ms. Tahira Aurangzaib (PML-N) Punjab
5 Ms. Nuzhat Sadiq (PML-N) Punjab
6 Ms. Nighat Parveen Mir (PML-N) Punjab
7 Ms. Khalida Mansoor (PML-N) Punjab
8 Ms. Shahnaz Saleem (PML-N) Punjab
9 Ms. Parveen Masood Bhatti (PML-N) Punjab
10 Ms. Sabeen Rizvi (PML-N) Punjab
11 Ms. Shireen Arshad Khan (PML-N) Punjab
12 Ms. Surriya Asghar (PML-N) Punjab
13 Ms. Tasneem Siddiqui (PML-N) Punjab
14 Ms. Nisar Tanveer (PML-N) Punjab
15 Ms. Shaheen Ishfaq (PML-N) Punjab
16 Ms. Anusha Rahman Khan (PML-N) Punjab
17 Ms. Beelum Hasnain (PPP-P) Punjab
18 Ms. Shakeela Khanum Rashid (PPP-P) Punjab
19 Ms. Fauzia Habib (PPP-P) Punjab
20 Ms. Mehreen Anwar Raja (PPP-P) Punjab
21 Ms. Yasmeen Rehman (PPP-P) Punjab
22 Ms. Rukhsana Bangash (PPP-P) Punjab
23 Ms. Naseem Chaudhary (PPP-P) Punjab
24 Ms. Palwasha Khan (PPP-P) Punjab
25 Ms. Farzana Raja (PPP-P) Punjab
26 Justice (R) Fakharunnisa Khokhar (PPP-P) Punjab
27 Ms. Samina Mushtaq Pagganwala (PPP-P) Punjab
28 Ms. Shahnaz Wazir Ali (PPP-P) Punjab
29 Ms. Kashmala Tariq (PML) Punjab
30 Dr. Attiya Inayatullah  (PML) Punjab
31 Ms. Bushra Rehaman (PML) Punjab
32 Begum Shahnaz Shaikh (PML) Punjab
33 Ms. Nosheen Saeed (PML) Punjab
34 Ms. Marvi Memon (PML) Punjab
35 Dr. Donya Aziz (PML) Punjab
36 Ms. Fiza Junejo (PML) Sindh
37 Ms. Shery Rehman (PPP-P) Sindh
38 Ms. Nafisa Shah (PPP-P) Sindh
39 Ms. Fauzia Wahab (PPP-P) Sindh
40 Ms. Rubina Saddat Qaimkhani (PPP-P) Sindh
41 Ms. Farah Naz Ispahani (PPP-P) Sindh
42 Ms. Shagufta Jumani (PPP-P) Sindh
43 Dr. Mehreen Razaque Bhutto (PPP-P) Sindh
44 Dr. Nahid Shahid Ali (MQM) Sindh
45 Ms. Kishwar Zahra (MQM) Sindh
46 Ms. Fauzia Ejaz Khan (MQM) Sindh
47 Ms. Imrana Saeed Jamil (MQM) Sindh
48 Ms. Shagufta Sadiq (MQM) Sindh
49 Ms. Reena Kumari (PML-F) Sindh
50 Ms. Bushra Gohar (ANP) N.W.F.P.
51 Ms. Jamila Gilani (ANP) N.W.F.P.
52 Ms. Khurshid Begum (ANP) N.W.F.P.
53 Ms. Asma Arab Alamgir (PPP-P) N.W.F.P.
54 Malik Mehrunnisa Afridi (PPP-P) N.W.F.P.
55 Ms. Farhat Khan (PPP-P) N.W.F.P.
56 Dr. Imtiaz Sultan Bukhari (PML-N) N.W.F.P.
57 Ms. Farzana Mushtaq Ghani (PML) N.W.F.P.
58 Ms. Zubaida Jalal (PML) Balochistan
59 Dr. Zil-e-Huma (PPP-P) Balochistan
60 Ms. Aasiya Nasir (MMA) Balochistan

Source: Library of National Assembly of Pakistan Records

The Senate elections were held in March 2009. With its new composition, 17 women Senators were elected:

 Women Senators Elected on Reserved Seats in the Senate of Pakistan 2009-Till date

Sr. No. Name Constituency
1 Ms. Nilofar Bakhtiar Punjab
2 Ms. Gulshan Saeed Punjab
3 Begum Najma Hameed Punjab
4 Syeda Sughra Imam Punjab
5 Ms. Alman Parveen Sindh
6 Ms. Ratna Bhagwandas Sindh
7 Ms. Sameen Yousuf Siddiqui Sindh
8 Ms. Shirala Malik Sindh
9 Ms. Farah Aqil Shah N.W.F.P.
10 Ms. Farhat Abbas N.W.F.P.
11 Ms. Fauzia Fakhar-uz-Zaman N.W.F.P.
12 Ms. Afia Zia N.W.F.P.
13 Ms. Suriya Amiruddin Balochistan
14 Ms. Kalsoom Parveen Balochistan
15 Ms. Raheela Yahya Baluch Balochistan
16 Ms. Sabina Rauf Balochistan
17 Dr. Saeeda Iqbal Federal Capital

Source: Library of Senate of Pakistan Records

The presence of women in such historically high numbers enabled women to play a more dynamic role and seek offices beyond the traditional “welfare oriented” jobs. It was thus for the first time that  Ms. Sherry Rehman served as Minister for Information from February 2008 to March 2009 and Begum Tehmina Daultana remained Federal Minister of Science & Technology from February 2008 to August 2008. Besides her, the cabinet of Prime Minister Yousuf Raza Gillani has Dr. Firdaus Ashiq Awan and Ms. Samina Khalid Ghurki as Federal Ministers and Ms. Mehreen Anwar Raja, Ms. Hina Rabbani Khar and Ms. Shagufta Jumani are Ministers of State. Ms.Farzana Raja heads the biggest-ever welfare project in Pakistan’s history, Benazir Income Support Programme and is in the status of a Federal Minister while Ms. Shahnaz Wazir Ali serves as Special Assistant to the Prime Minister on Social Sector. Another Member, Ms. Nafisa Shah is serving as Chairperson of the National Commission on Human Development.

There are 5 women Members serving as Parliamentary Secretaries and 6 have been elected as Chairpersons of the Standing Committees.

Know Your MP

Find out who represents you in the General Assembly and Senate.

Patron's Activities

Records of the Patron's latest engagements and events.

Did you know?

Interesting facts about the caucus and women in parliament.